Elise Hu http://kunc.org en What To Do Now That The Heartbleed Bug Exposed The Internet http://kunc.org/post/what-do-now-heartbleed-bug-exposed-internet With a name like Heartbleed, it's no surprise it's bad. A vulnerability in OpenSSL — the Internet's most commonly used cryptographic library — <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/alltechconsidered/2014/04/08/300602785/the-security-bug-that-affects-most-of-the-internet-explained">has been bleeding out information</a>, 64 kilobytes at a time, since March 2012.<p>"I would classify it as possibly the top bug that has hit the Internet that I've encountered, because of it being so widespread, because it's so hard to detect," says Andy Grant, a security analyst at iSEC Partners.<p>Are you affected? Wed, 09 Apr 2014 21:10:11 +0000 Elise Hu 55316 at http://kunc.org What To Do Now That The Heartbleed Bug Exposed The Internet SXSW: Software, Apps Still Rule But A Hardware Resurgence Is On http://kunc.org/post/sxsw-software-apps-still-rule-hardware-resurgence The task of building your very own toy, or robot, or radio can seem daunting for someone without much background in engineering. But a set of color-coded electronic bits that can be magnetically snapped together called <a href="http://littlebits.cc/pressroom">littleBits</a> is aiming to make creating your own electronics easy for everyone. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 21:23:00 +0000 Elise Hu 54568 at http://kunc.org SXSW: Software, Apps Still Rule But A Hardware Resurgence Is On SXSW: Snowden Speech Has Conference Buzzing, Congressman Stewing http://kunc.org/post/sxsw-snowden-speech-has-conference-buzzing-congressman-stewing Former NSA contractor Edward Snowden <a href="http://sxsw.com/interactive/news/2014/monday-march-10-edward-snowden-speak-sxsw-interactive-videoconference">will speak via videoconference</a> to the attendees of South by Southwest Interactive later this morning, and you can bet a much wider audience than just those here in Austin will be watching.<p>Snowden will be speaking from Russia, which is still offering him asylum as he faces felony charges of espionage here in the U.S. The man behind leaks that revealed U.S. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 12:39:00 +0000 Elise Hu 54553 at http://kunc.org SXSW: Snowden Speech Has Conference Buzzing, Congressman Stewing Lawmakers Look To Prevent More Target-Sized Data Breaches http://kunc.org/post/lawmakers-look-prevent-more-target-sized-data-breaches The sheer size and frequency of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/01/10/261365107/target-says-70-million-individuals-data-may-have-been-stolen">recent credit card data breaches</a> at Target, Neiman Marcus and other companies are prompting lawmakers to consider legislative options to keep sophisticated cyberthefts from happening.<p>"If anything, we've learned from this major, major breach that we can no longer do nothing," said Sen. Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 12:19:00 +0000 Elise Hu 53870 at http://kunc.org Lawmakers Look To Prevent More Target-Sized Data Breaches For Taiwanese News Animators, Funny Videos Are Serious Work http://kunc.org/post/taiwanese-news-animators-funny-videos-are-serious-work <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6VzLOaeNZEY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ou6E9kVSC-4</p> Mon, 27 Jan 2014 22:17:00 +0000 Elise Hu 53680 at http://kunc.org For Taiwanese News Animators, Funny Videos Are Serious Work