Bahrain http://kunc.org en War Correspondent's Unflinching 'Diary Of A Bad Year' http://kunc.org/post/war-correspondents-unflinching-diary-very-bad-year <em>NPR's Kelly McEvers struggled with intense, unexpected emotions during the Arab Spring, when friends were being kidnapped and worse. It made her wonder, why do otherwise intelligent people risk their lives to report on conflicts?</em><p>In early 2011, I started seeing things in slow motion. I cried unpredictably. It was the time of the Arab uprisings. Colleagues and friends were getting kidnapped. Some were getting killed.<p>But still, I went toward the story. The next year, 2012 was one of the deadliest years on record for journalists. Sat, 29 Jun 2013 12:34:50 +0000 Kelly McEvers 46458 at http://kunc.org War Correspondent's Unflinching 'Diary Of A Bad Year' Clashes Mark Bahrain's 2nd Anniversary Of Uprising http://kunc.org/post/clashes-mark-bahrains-2nd-anniversary-uprising Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>Two years ago today, more than 100,000 people rallied in the Gulf nation of Bahrain; a peacefully protest against the rule of their autocratic king. Despite harsh government repression, the protests continue. Many Bahrainis are critical of U.S. Thu, 14 Feb 2013 10:49:00 +0000 40188 at http://kunc.org State Department: Andrew W.K. Won't Party In Bahrain On Government Dime http://kunc.org/post/state-department-andrew-wk-wont-party-bahrain-government-dime Andrew W.K., <a href="http://www.npr.org/2009/11/30/120758328/andrew-w-k-tiny-desk-concert">whom NPR Music described</a> as the "long-haired, wild-eyed, keyboard-pounding, sublimely over-the-top party-rocker," won't be taking his party to Bahrain.<p>At least not on the government's dime.The State Department has rescinded its invitation, stopped the music if you will, just as word started to spread that the U.S. Embassy in Manama had invited W.K. to perform.<p>W.K. was very excited about the news. Mon, 26 Nov 2012 20:43:00 +0000 36910 at http://kunc.org State Department: Andrew W.K. Won't Party In Bahrain On Government Dime Bahrain Sentences Prominent Activist To 3 Years In Jail http://kunc.org/post/bahrain-sentences-prominent-activist-3-years-jail The government of Bahrain, today, handed down a three-year jail sentence for prominent activist Nabeel Rajab, the head of the Bahrain Center For Human Rights.<p>Rajab,<a href="http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2012/aug/16/bahrain-human-rights-activist-jail?newsfeed=true"> reports <em>The Guardian</em></a>, was already serving a three month sentence for posting for his anti-government comments on Twitter. Thu, 16 Aug 2012 16:44:00 +0000 32246 at http://kunc.org Bahrain Sentences Prominent Activist To 3 Years In Jail Bahrain Car Race: A Complicated Political Reminder http://kunc.org/post/bahrain-car-race-complicated-political-reminder On Sunday morning, Formula One racing cars are competing for first place in a controversial race in the Arab kingdom of Bahrain. Violent anti-government protests have continued in the run-up to the race. Host Rachel Martin talks with Nabeel Rajab, president of the Bahrain Center for Human Rights. Sun, 22 Apr 2012 11:33:00 +0000 26047 at http://kunc.org