11:26am

Wed June 15, 2011
The Two-Way

Today's Total Eclipse Of The Moon: How To Watch

Those of us in North America won't be able to see it happen "live," but if all goes well we can catch a webcast of what's going to be "an unusually long total lunar eclipse" today.

Basically, every continent except North America will get a view. On the timing and length, Space.com says that:

"At its peak, the total eclipse of the moon will last 100 minutes, making it the longest lunar eclipse in 11 years. ... [It] will begin about 1:24 p.m. EDT (1724 GMT) and last until 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT). The eclipse's peak will occur at 4:12 p.m. EDT (2012 GMT)."

Adding to the celestial drama: Spaceweather.com says "exhaust from the erupting volcano in Chile could alter the appearance of the eclipse." The moon may look darker than in other eclipses.

Now, for those who can't go out to watch, there's this option: the Sky Watchers Association of North Bengal, India, is hosting a live webcast.

Check it out:

H/T to Huffpost Green.

Copyright 2011 National Public Radio. To see more, visit http://www.npr.org/.